Badminton World Federation

which is the international governing body for the sport of badminton. Founded in 1934 as the International Badminton Federation with nine member nations (Canada, Denmark, England, France, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales), the BWF has since expanded to 169 member nations around the world. On September 24, 2006, at the Extraordinary General Meeting in Madrid, it was decided to adopt the new name Badminton World Federation. The Council is headquartered in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.